Freezer Meals

Have you heard of freezer meals? If you’re in the blogging world, chances are you have an idea of what I’m talking about. If not: freezer meals are meals you make in advance, typically all at one time, freeze them, then throw them in the crockpot when you need an easy meal!

I must admit right now: I buy into the natural foods, eat healthy, feed your family well-rounded meals, cutesy stuff, blah blah blah but I was raised by Don Beard which means I like red meat, lots of seasoning, and if I can’t pronounce something or know what it is by looking at it, I won’t eat it. I just won’t. This makes it difficult for me to follow along with all these gluten free, egg free, taste free, texture free, fun free meals that are all over the internet. Give me some steak with a side of mashed potatoes and biscuits, and you’ve won my heart.

However. I know better. I should at SOME nutritional value to my home. With busy schedules though and dinner often not even being started until after 8:30pm, I just don’t have the patience or desire to spend an hour making some healthy meal. I. Just. Don’t.

Perfect solution: freezer meals. Below, I’ll list some links to where I got my information/recipes from. These resources are AMAZING and so thorough. This post won’t be but hopefully it will show you how easy it is so you will actually want to look at those meals.

This is my way of doing this:

1. Gather recipes and go shopping! I wanted between 10-15 meals and most recipes make 2 bags so I just found six I liked. I also tried to get meals with common ingredients. This allowed me to buy ingredients and use them wholly rather than a bit here, a pierce there. 

2. Prepare freezer bags. On your freezer bags, write the date, name of recipe, and the directions on the bag (i.e 1/20/13    Italian Sausage and Peppers    Thaw in fridge, drizzle with olive oil, slow cook for 6-7 hours on low)

3. Prepare meat. Clean your chicken cuts, trim fat off anything and everything (ew), and put them on plates to grab from when needed. Then wash. your. cutting. board. and. knife with HOT water and soap!

photo 2

4. Fill! I put the baggies in a mixing bowl so they wouldn’t fall over. I put the meat in first, then the veggies. Some people will tell you to cut all veggies beforehand but I like to do it as I go. Shake the bag then lay it flat in the freezer! That’s it! And look how little mess is made:

photo 3

photo 4

When you go to cook your meal, put it in the fridge to thaw overnight or throughout the day then just follow the directions on the bag!

I hope this helps! If not, or if you have questions, ask below and I’ll answer as best I can! Also, check out these links for recipes and really thorough instructions!

http://www.ringaroundtherosies.net/2012/02/freezer-cooking.html

http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/2012/09/slow-cooker-freezer-meals-make-8-meals.html

Happy freezing!

Leave a Reply

