iron sharpens iron.

On Friday morning, while at work, I received an e-mail that Dillon sent to his boss and business partner and blind CC’d me (sneaky!). I’ve included the e-mail below in hopes that the same message will reach you as well. However, my point is to only praise God and be thankful that Dillon works with incredible, strong, godly men. One has a small daughter and a child on the way, and his boss has three grown daughters; then Dillon about to head into marriage. My heart is so thankful that D is able to be in business with these men and they can all truly live out Proverbs 27:12.

Here’s the e-mail:

Good afternoon gents, 

Today I was reading in Genesis 22 and came across the story where Abraham was told to sacrifice Isaac. Our story does not entirely parallel their’s, but it resonated with me enough that I thought I’d share. 
Let’s recap: God called Abraham to sacrifice Isaac. He went to the mountain with full faith and trust in God, knowing that He would provide. It was almost weird to me how calm he was about the whole ordeal, but I believe that’s because he knew that God would pull through (Gen. 22:8). God saw his faithfulness and rewarded him; Isaac was spared, and from him the nations were multiplied. This is what it says: “16 and said, “I swear by myself, declares the Lord, that because you have done this and have not withheld your son, your only son, 17 I will surely bless you and make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and as the sand on the seashore. Your descendants will take possession of the cities of their enemies, 18 and through your offspring[a] all nations on earth will be blessed,[b] because you have obeyed me.”
This is what sits with my heart today: I have been struggling, as we all do at times, to really trust the LORD to provide. My response in the past has been to make sure that I take care of things, and let God take the back seat. That has been a struggle in the wake of this next step with us and TEL. I have tried to take it into my own hands to provide, not relying on the LORD. He clearly says that he will bless the faithful, and promises blessing when we obey Him. That is what I am taking as my challenge for myself today, and going forward. I am going to give it all to the LORD, and let Him do as He pleases, knowing that He will bless the work of our hands. I trust you both to do the same. 
Your brother in Christ,
Dillon
Have a blessed week!
Leave a Reply

