sweet garlic chicken

Well, here it is. Annalise suggested I blog about food things. Actually, I think she said “wife-y” things but I’m not good at “wife-y” things but I can cook every now and then, so here it is. This is a recipe I adapted from a Pinterest post. Typically though, I glance over the recipe then forget it once I’m in the kitchen so I make it up from there. Sometimes it works great, sometimes it doesn’t work at all. This time I made sweet garlic chicken and in my opinion, it worked great. In Dillon’s opinion, it worked okay, which inspired a couple changes that I’ll modify in the recipe you see here. So here we go.

First, your ingredients. Some chicken breasts (I used four), olive oil, brown sugar, minced garlic, minced onions, a bit of ginger, and a dab of butter (not pictured; camera shy). I recommend marinating your chicken for a few hours before. I typically marinade it in my favorite stuff, which is a secret, but you can always, always use chicken stock with 1/4 cup of Dr. Pepper. Trust me, it works great. I didn’t marinate the chicken on this particular evening, since this was super last minute and it would definitely make it a million times better, so try to get that done. Then tenderize your chicken. Also, then preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Next, just lightly brown your chicken in a hot skillet.

Then in a clean, skillet on medium heat, throw in the garlic, onions, a dash of ginger, and 4 teaspoons of olive oil. Cook them until translucent but not roasted.

Then stir in 3 tablespoons of brown sugar and just a dab of butter and cook until its more of a glaze.

It should look like this: And it will make your entire home smell very good! Dillon said he could smell it five doors down.

Pour this mixture over your browned chickens. Which should be in a foil lined casserole dish already, I forgot to tell you that. Sprinkle with salt and peppa.

Slide these into your oven for about 15-20 minutes. While they’re cooking away, clean your kitchen, light a candle, and turn up some Corrine Bailey Rae. Obviously, I do not have children.

Once the chicken is done, place on a plate and serve hot! Tada! I served it with corn on the cob and rolls but it would also be super yummy on a bed of rice with asparagus or green beans.

All in all, this meal maybe took 10 minutes of prep, and 20 minutes of cooking so its great after those twelve hour days. Let me know if you have questions or change it up! Now I’m off to get the chicken tacos in the crockpot. I eat a lot of chicken.

Leave a Reply

